Scottish Geodiversity Forum

The Scottish Geodiversity Forum is closing in 2020, and members are invited to join and contribute to a new national charity, the Scottish Geology Trust. You can find out more about the Trust and join the mailing list at

A Special General Meeting of the Forum due to be held in Edinburgh on Friday 27 March 2020 has been postponed, and an online alternative will be organised in the next couple of months. This meeting will be be asked to formally dissolve the Forum and transfer unspent funds to the new Trust. The meeting will also be an opportunity to review and celebrate the work of the Forum, and look to the future of the Trust and the Geodiversity Charter by mapping out Scotland’s geological organisations and resources.

The Scottish Geodiversity Forum was launched in 2011, to promote Scotland’s geodiversity, widen the profile of geodiversity and influence national and local policies. The Forum published and promoted Scotland’s Geodiversity Charter with the support of more than 90 signatory organisations.

From 2011 to 2020 the Forum brought people and organisations together in the promotion of Scotland’s geodiversity and the sharing of experience and good practice, as the national body for geoconservation groups, geoparks and other related organisations. The Forum promoted the role and value of geodiversity in education, community involvement and health, the development of tourism and the wider economy. We organised conferences and events, and ground-breaking projects such as the 51 Best Places to see Scotland’s Geology and the Hugh Miller Writing Competition. We also revamped and updated the website.

Members of the Forum have contributed to, and fully support, the development of the Scottish Geology Trust and look forward to all interested organisations and individuals working together to inspire more people to discover the significance of Scotland’s geology, to empower better choices for a more sustainable future.

The Scottish Geodiversity Forum, 2011-2020

Patron: Iain Stewart, MBE FGS, Director of the Sustainable Earth Institute,
School of Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Plymouth University.

Executive Committee, 2020
Chair: Angus Miller – / 0131 555 5488
Vice-chair: Mike Browne
Secretary: Gavin Eardley
Treasurer: Hugh Lockhart
Membership Secretary: Margaret Greene –
Ordinary members: Beverly Bergman, Simon Cuthbert, John Gordon, Neil Clark, Jennifer Roberts, Jim Blair, Lara Reid, Robina Barton, Jen Brooke.
Scottish Natural Heritage rep: Colin MacFadyen
British Geological Survey rep: Sarah Arkley
Dynamic Earth rep: Hermione Cockburn
Royal Scottish Geographical Society rep: Mike Robinson.